Federal Court

Spotlight: Hartford Federal Court

Until 1963, the United States District Court in Hartford was headquartered at the old Post Office and Courthouse now known as the William R. Cotter Federal Building at 135-149 High Street. Outgrowing the facilities there, the seat of court at Hartford has been at the Abraham A. Ribicoff Federal Building[…]

Spotlight: New Haven Federal Court

When you litigate in federal court in Connecticut, you have a 1 in 3 chance of assignment to the Richard C. Lee United States Courthouse in New Haven. It is an impressive edifice located on right on the New Haven Green. Prior to its current service as a courthouse, it[…]

Where are Federal Courthouses in Connecticut?

Connecticut is a unique federal district as it is comprised of one division. There are three federal courthouses: Bridgeport, New Haven and Hartford. In the past, the Danbury Post Office was a seat of court for the Hon. Gerard L. Goettel until his retirement. As far as we know, there are no[…]